top of page

Feeding America


One of the topics or issues that is present in or world that has interested me is hunger. The neccesity and right to have food to provide for oneself is a vital part of life that everyone should have. No one should go hungry or be unsure of the next time they will have a meal. Whether we have dealt with hunger ourselves or encountered others who have, hunger, whether we know it or not is everywhere. Though this is a tragedy, it is the truth; however, it needs to be changed. Of course it is hard to change anything as big and problematic as hunger, but some help and donates can go a long way.

On Saturday, November 7th I volunteered with Feeding America Southwest Virginia. First we were shown a video all about Feeding America and the place is run. Then we were split into two groups. The group I was in discarded any expired goods, organized them into categorized boxes, and then put the boxes with their correct section. This was all done with an assembly line system that was efficient and worked really well. I personally put the food into their specific boxes based on their category. This trip reminded me of when worked as a cashier at my local supermarket back home. I spent hours standing on my feet, listening to sometimes irritable customers, and sorting and packaging food for people. However, there is a huge difference in that for this service trip I helped package food for people all throughout Southwest Virginia. I felt great that I was part of this project that provides for people who need it, so standing on my feet that whole morning didn't bother me. The time went by so quickly because I had fun while packaging the boxes and knowing what I was doing would help people. During the whole day James and his team went around taking pictures of us, and James often joined in the pictures. At the end James had all of us get into a big group picture, holding pictures of him and Sheryl Crow.

I wish that the process was a little more organized because when I was packaging the boxes it was difficult to tell what went where. Also, I wish I could see where the food directly goes, so I could really know I made an impact. Overall, this experience was a very fun and informational day. I want to continue to go back and help out Feeding America, as it is a great organization.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page